Docker NGINX service reload bug

Hello all! I’m new to Docker and LinuxServer.io, but I’ve loving both already! The folks at Linux Server really have done a great job of documenting their containers and adapting them for all the popular architectures. Thanks for that!

Now, the reason for my post; I’m by no means and programmer or developer, but I think I stumbled across a bug in the nginx docker build. I’ve noticed if I attempt to check config files or reload the nginx service with a docker exec command, I receive the following error:

pi@docker:~ $ docker exec -it reverse-proxy nginx -t
nginx: the configuration file /etc/nginx/nginx.conf syntax is ok
nginx: [emerg] open() “/run/nginx/nginx.pid” failed (2: No such file or directory)
nginx: configuration file /etc/nginx/nginx.conf test failed

This is true in both the linuxserver/nginx:latest and linuxserver//letsencrypt containers. I instances of each running on separate servers.

If I connection to a bash shell session and print version information with nginx -V (big V), I get the following output:

pi@docker:~ $ docker exec -it reverse-proxy nginx -V
nginx version: nginx/1.18.0
built with OpenSSL 1.1.1g 21 Apr 2020
TLS SNI support enabled
configure arguments: --prefix=/var/lib/nginx --sbin-path=/usr/sbin/nginx --modules-path=/usr/lib/nginx/modules --conf-path=/etc/nginx/nginx.conf --pid-path=/run/nginx/nginx.pid…

This is additional output past the dots, but I removed it for the sake of readability. The interesting bit is that last argument for PID path: --pid-path=/run/nginx/nginx.pid. This is the PID file mentioned in the error above.

If I ls the /run directory on either of the containers in question, I notice this is no nginx directory, AND the ngix.pid file is actually in the root of /run.