Example docker-compose for unifi-network-application

Hello,

I’m yet to run one of your containers “in production” at home, but I like what I read!
I’m a refugee from a 32-bit “Unifi Network” install (on a raspberry Pi) and have been hoping to install your unifi-network-application container at home.

Although I’m still fairly new to containers I do have two other containerised applications running on the PC which I want to host this on. I see in the documentation that “This container requires an external mongodb database instance.” and I also see you have an example docker-compose for the unifi-controller.

• Can I just join the two together in the one docker-compose file to have a dedicated mongodb for my unifi-network-application container?

• If so, could someone please provide an example container-compose?
    (I see the official mongodb container has a container-compose here but it includes some mongo-express software which I wonder if I need?) For now I just want self-signed TLS certificates.

• What’s the minimum amount of RAM you’d recommend for both containers? (I’m currently running version 7.4 on Raspberry Pi 2b which only has 1GB RAM so this is going to be faster either way)

• The doco warns that mongodb can’t be upgraded automatically between major versions and that Ubiquti’s software is stuck supporting up to the ancient 4.4 version. Can I just specify 4.4 and let Docker run the latest 4.4.x sub-release without issue?

Thank you so much in advance!

Yes

Just strip out the ME container (that compose lists two containers). TLS is out of scope

We have no way to guess how much ram your environment needs but there is no real difference in the mongo requirements in unifi-controller going to network-application.

you can, but mongodb 4.4 is end of life feb, 2024, which is why we split them up in the first place.