Help with hardware transcoding in plex on unraid (using intel® celeron® n5095)

Hi there,

I am relatively new to Unraid as well as Plex and am experiencing challenges with setting up hardware transcoding in my Plex Docker container. Despite various attempts and configurations, it seems like hardware transcoding is not functioning as expected, and I would greatly appreciate any guidance or suggestions.

System Details:
Unraid Server Version: 6.12.4
Plex Version: 1.32.7.7621
Docker Repository: lscr.io/linuxserver/plex
Hardware: Terramaster F4-423 with an Intel® Celeron® N5095 processor
Storage: Using an SSD cache to enhance performance
Installed Plugins: GPU Statistics and intel-gpu-top

Configuration:
Added Extra Parameters for Plex Docker Container: --device /dev/dri:/dev/dri
Added the /dev/dri device in Plex Docker Container settings
Verified permissions for /dev/dri are set to crwxrwxrwx
Active Plex Lifetime Pass with hardware acceleration enabled in Plex settings
Manually set HardwareDevicePath to /dev/dri/renderD128 in Plex container preferences.xml
lspci -vnn output confirms that the Intel JasperLake UHD Graphics is recognized and the i915 driver is in use

Issues Encountered:
CPU load reaches 100% during transcoding, suggesting possible fallback to software transcoding
No “(hw)” indicator in the Plex dashboard during transcoding processes

I am looking for advice on ensuring that hardware transcoding is properly utilized in my setup. Is there a step I might have missed, or a specific configuration that needs adjustment? Any insights, especially considering my relative newness to Unraid, would be incredibly helpful.

Thanks in advance!

It’s prudent to differentiate between hw transcoding and tone mapping as they use different capabilities of the GPU and drivers (latter uses opencl).