How to run Lychee server on a windows 10 computer

I would like to run the Lychee server on my Windows 10 desktop, with minimum impact on that machine. Lychee’s requirements include Linux, PHP, MySQL, and Apache. Despite being pretty ignorant about Docker, it seems to me that running the linuxserver/lychee container might be all I need. However, the overview presented on that page leaves me with many questions.

Is there more detailed information on how to use the containers from linuxserver site? in general and Lychee server in particular? (it is very clear that I am a Docker novice :slight_smile:)

Well, none of us run docker on Windows, as we’re “Linux” guys as our name implies. So in order to even think about running any of the containers you’re going to have to figure out Docker on Windows for yourself (Not sure if the WSL is helpful here)

There’s nothing special about our containers from a running point of view, but for Lychee you also need a MySQL/MariaDB database as well.

Might be better if you tell us what your questions are to be honest.

I am minimally skilled with Docker on Windows (using Linux Containers alternative) and I am pretty sure that I could build my Lychee server from its GitHub source. In that case, I would also have to install PHP, MySQL and some web server (Apache / nginx) and perhaps a few more “parts”.

My (maybe naive) perception about Docker is that I could grab this complete container and have instant solution with all needed components already configured.

Yeah, our Lychee container contains Nginx and PHP, and personally I use our MariaDB container as the database component. So you’re almost correct. :wink:

1 Like

I’ve been dabbling in windows for docker a bit lately. Containers work great with bridge networking. But you need to pay attention to the paths as they differ from linux.