HTTP Status 404 – Not Found

My controller was running fine until just recently. Now I am greeted with “HTTP Status 404 – Not Found” when I try to access the page. https://IP.lan:8443

Troubleshooting steps I have taken:

• Restarting the container
  • Recreating the container
  • Duplicating the container using a new volume (created for that test)
  • Rebooting the Docker server VM
  • Expanding the VM disk capacity (by double to 40GiB)

Nothing changed.

I’m running out of ideas. I’m still pretty new to Docker, so please bear with me. I am currently trying to manage my containers via Portainer.

Thank you

This is probably a name resolution issue or a port forward issue.
Can you try with IP address instead of IP.lan ?

From the portainer GUI, you should see the container’s stats and details, such as IP address (internal to the container) and any ports forwarded from the host to the container.

Also, I dont think linuxserver officially supports portainer setups.

You may consider a docker-compose.yaml setup and your portainer should still allow you to perform some management over the stack

Of all the… :face_with_raised_eyebrow:

I just refreshed the page.

After trying to troubleshoot with no success. Only after I make an account and ask for assistance, now it works (with my private domain name).

Hard to troubleshoot when it’s working.

To answer your question, I did also try with the IP address (I also keep bookmarks of those in case of a DNS issue). I was still getting the same error.

As for your suggestion, it looks like Portainer does allow me to create and manage stacks using Docker Compose files. I am still learning to use it, so that is one area I still needs to learn.

I created the container manually, following all of the instructions on the Docker Hub page. So the end result should be the equivalent to the docker-compose shown on the page.

Thank you for your suggestions. I will learn how to use Stacks in Portainer, and use yaml files.