Newbie can't access Ubooquity on Synology DS 918+

Hi, I should start by saying that I am a newbie at using Docker and things outside a Windows environment so apologies in advance if this is a Synology issue rather than something with the container.

I’ve been trying to get Ubooquity up and running on my DS 918+ but can’t access it. Not sure where the problem lies exactly. Docker is installed and running, I can see the container as running in Docker and there is nothing obvious in the logs to suggest a problem. However, when I try to access the admin settings via http://ip:2203, I get “This site can’t be reached ip refused to connect”.

Are there any prerequisites I need to install like Apache or Web Station or should the container “just work”?

Any pointers on how to proceed would be appreciated.

Guy

If you followed the directions in the readme, it should just work.

So you need to give us more info on how you set it up before we can help troubleshoot

Where do I find the readme?

https://github.com/linuxserver/docker-ubooquity or https://hub.docker.com/r/linuxserver/ubooquity

Thanks. I had read those but hadn’t been able to decipherable how to translate them into what I need to do in docker. Am I supposed to be doing something via Putty or in the docker terminal window?

You can do docker exec -it containername bash via putty or I suspect Synology have a way of entering the container via their webui.

OK, that’s really helpful. I amended it to:

sudo docker exec -it linuxserver-ubooquity1 bash

and entered the admin password when prompted which takes me to

root@linuxserver-ubooquity1:/$

But if I then enter

id <dockeruser> ; uid=1001(dockeruser) gid=1001(dockergroup) groups=1001(dockergroup)

as per the readme I get

bash: syntax error near unexpected token `('

I have to be honest, I’m not entirely sure what you are trying to do. If you are just trying to get the container up and running, I would recommend deleting what you have and starting fresh.