Questions about Nextcloud updates

Hello all, I guess I’ve been running the LSIO Nextcloud for 2 or 3 months now at least, and have finally been arsed to get my Calendar and Contacts in there as well. I apologize if the following questions are too newbish, but frankly I am a newb at docker / LSIO images as I haven’t been running either for very long.

Lately, it keeps pinging me about Nextcloud updates, and I know that in the Nextcloud UI I can have it update itself. I was just wondering if that was a “proper” thing to do when you’re running Nextcloud as a docker container, as up to this point I’ve just been waiting for LSIO to update the image, since I have a script that runs a pull / up -d with docker compose. I wanted to make sure that letting Nextcloud update itself wasn’t going to break the image or something, or see if it was a better idea to just wait for image updates.

Secondly, I was curious how (if at all) you all were going to handle the upgrade to Nextcloud 18, where they’ve rolled out Nextcloud Hub. I didn’t know if you’d do a new image entirely for that, if the existing image would be updated to it, or if you just wouldn’t implement it at all and leave that to the official images. I have a couple of things like a grocery list I keep for the family in Google Drive, and I was curious to try out the similar functionality in Nextcloud 18.

Thanks

Nextcloud is one of very few apps where we recommend gui updates. It’s outlined in the readme: https://github.com/linuxserver/docker-nextcloud#application-setup

Nextcloud Hub is really a marketing gimmick. All they did was create a plugin that attempts to pull in a binary to run onlyoffice server. But it’s a half-assed attempt that only works in an ubuntu environment and only on x86_64 (our container is alpine based, therefore the plugin does not work). Other than that, it’s just nextcloud, nothing else is different.