Snapdrop container : peers can't see each others

Hi there everyone,

first of all I would like to shout out a big thank you to linuxserver.io. I found all the stuff I’ve digged through maintained, useful and documented to the top ! Since I have setup so easily that swag container, I almost feel like I too got some swag. I won’t post the gif but it definitely feels like it.

Sadly I encounter an issue with snapdrop : peers just can’t see each others on the snapdrop instance. For instance, I only can exchange files on browsers from the same computer.

• Maybe I should setup a swag reverse proxy conf file for snapdrop ?
  • Maybe the snapdrop container needs to join a network ?

Any help appreciated !

rzb

I’ve been running LinuxServer’s Snapdrop container for a few years so far. I recently realized iOS devices couldn’t detect any others in Snapdrop if the container runs behind a reverse proxy (esp. with SSL/TLS). I hope no one wastes a long time like me to find out the solution. Just go and turn on a Safari experimental feature called “NSURLSession WebSocket” in the iOS settings.

1 Like

Thank you for your answer. Sadly I’m not using Safari. I will take a look at Firefox to find an option like this one.

Dear Forum,

I also have the problem of peers not showing up.

I have installed the latest snapdrop docker container on a raspberry pi4 using the Docker CLI command (no docker compose) as displayed on the website Docker Hub

When connecting with chromium to the local server the snapdrop website shows up with the message “reconnecting in 5 seconds”. No peers show up.

In chromium debug mode (F12) the console says:

network.js:16 WebSocket connection to ‘ws://localhost/server/webrtc’ failed:

Docker logs (docker logs snapdrop) gives the following error message:

Fatal error in , line 0
unreachable code
The nginx log (in CONFIGDIR/log/nginx/error.log) says: